Lazy Sunday Feta Packages

One thing I still have to get used to about living in Germany, is the fact that on Sunday, everything is closed. Well, not churches and bars, but in terms of stores, the best you can hope for is the local gas station, where, besides the general car supplies, beer, and cigarettes, you can buy heavily overpriced grocery items. I was so used to extended opening hours, going to the stores without even thinking if they would be open or not, that it still catches me off guard when it’s Saturday afternoon and I have to do shopping NOW, or i’ll be in trouble. Now, I always have enough food in my fridge and pantry to feed multiple people for many days, but I still feel a little anxious when I don’t have a clear food plan for Sunday laid out.

This was a little bit the case today, and also the reason why i just purchased the most expensive butter I ever bought (2,99 Euro) at the gas station for tonight’s cabbage and carrot lasagna. But as I was selecting and purging a stack of recipes, I ran into this yummy snack that I could make with a piece of left over feta, and some phyllo dough sheet I happened to have lying around. It’s originally a Jamie Oliver recipe, and is whipped up in less than 15 minutes. Perfect for a lazy Sunday afternoon, or as a nice appetizer for your next middle Eastern themed dinner party! The recipe is for four people (2 feta pockets per person), and I served it with some cucumber slices lightly brushed with olive oil, and sprinkled with salt and pepper.

Lazy Sunday feta packages

  • 300 gr. Feta
  • 4 T. Honey
  • 2 T. Oregano
  • 2 T. Olive oil
  • 8 phyllo dough sheets
  • a few fresh thyme twigs (leaves only, chopped)
  • More honey to serve
  • Sesame seeds

Mix the feta with the honey, olive oil, and oregano.

Take one sheet of dough, brush it lightly with olive oil, sprinkle with thyme leaves, and add another sheet to cover. Now cut the sheets in half (short side), so you have the dough for two packages (repeat with other sheets).

Add feta mixture onto dough, and fold (long sides first, than roll along short sides).

Heat 1/2 cm. olive oil in a pan. When the oil is hot, carefully add packages (however many fit into your pan comfortably) and fry until golden brown (a few minutes). Then turn and brown other side for another minute or so.

Remove from pan and place on a piece of kitchen paper to let excess oil drip off.

Serve with more honey drizzled on top, and some sesame seeds.

I realized after I made this, it would be great to use some flavored honey (I have some (decadent) truffle honey lying around that I need a good use for). You could also bake the packages in the oven, if you want to avoid frying. In that case, preheat oven to 200C and place packages on baking sheet and bake for about 15 minutes, or until golden brown.

Leave a Reply

